Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Selects Oct. 13 As The Release Date For DVD And Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack Editions Of The Gallows

DVD & Blu-ray Release Report, Ralph Tribbey
Warner Bros. Home Entertainment has tabbed Oct. 13 as the street for both DVD and Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack editions of the directing and writing team of Travis Cluff and Chris Lofing’s “haunted house” thriller (it actually takes place in a high school auditorium), The Gallows.

This indie pickup by the studio was released theatrically in early July and pulled in box office receipts of $22.6 million.   That’s not bad for a film that sports a little-known cast and the all-too-common hand held camera narrative as its main chill generator.   

The ARR is 95 days.

The film begins with a prologue that shows some video clips from a high school play, titled “The Gallows,” from 20 years ago at Beatrice High School that went horribly wrong.   One of the actors, Charlie (Jesse Cross), is to be hanged on stage as part of the play, but instead of it being a “pretend” event, he is actually killed in front of a packed house.

DVD & Blu-ray Release Report, Ralph TribbeyIt’s now 20 years later and the school has decided to present an anniversary edition of the play as a tribute to poor Charlie.   And here is where the fun begins as four students — Reese (Reese Mishler), Pfeifer (Pfeifer Brown, Ryan (Ryan Shoos) and Cassidy (Cassidy Gifford) — break into the auditorium to wreck the set, but soon find themselves trapped and unable to get out.   

Of course it is not as it seems and before the night ends three of the kids will be dead!!!
As to bonus goodies, both SKUs include a gag reel, deleted scenes and the featurette titled “Charlie: Every School has its Spirit.”  Exclusive to the Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack are two additional featurettes.

DVD & Blu-ray Release Report, Ralph TribbeyAlso added to the DVD release calendar this past week by Warner Bros. Home Entertainment are two four-film collections showcasing the star power of Jeanette MacDonald and Nelson Eddy.   These will be available on Sept. 15.

Jeanette MacDonald & Nelson Eddy Collection, Volume 1 contains Naughty Marietta, Rose-Marie, Maytime and The Girl of the Golden West, while Jeanette MacDonald & Nelson Eddy Collection, Volume 2 features Sweethearts, New Moon, Bitter Sweet and I Married an Angel.

No comments:

Post a Comment